If social interaction feels threatening

The following is a mashup of rational responses I have written to myself over the years, regarding the feelings of perceived threat I’ve dysfunctionally experienced in social interactions.

  • Most interactions are not about power or control. They simply aren’t. Even disagreements aren’t necessarily a power struggle – especially not over personal control.
  • You needn’t wait till you have just the right personality before allowing human relationships to occur in your life. Most interaction isn’t something to be gotten right or wrong.
  • Hi just means Hi. Maybe they’re not acting friendly with me in some effort to get personally involved in my life.
  • Maybe he/she is not a threat. Maybe they’re not trying to change me but to communicate with me.
  • Why should I have so much riding on what a stranger thinks of me (and temporarily, at that)?
  • You don’t have to know exactly what someone’s personality is like before you can interact with them.
One thought on “If social interaction feels threatening

  1. I think all of us have our own hangups, all in different ways, so first of all stop thinking of it as an ‘issue’. Once you get to know people, you will see that beneath the exterior, all of us are afraid of something – dying alone, flying, making changes, not making changes.. Once you start to think of it as normal, you will meet many people that are like you. Try to overcome your fear one step at a time and don’t force it. Hope this helps a bit:))

Leave a Reply

